Answering David Black

Some of you send me private e-mails from time to time about that prolific commentator, Mr. David Black.  You wonder why I don’t delete his posts, since they are often contrary to the flow of the conversation. 

Well, if you would take a look at my byline, that’s what this blog is all about.  I myself am a contrarian.  I can’t stand intellectual conformity.  It is so stifling.  So why would I be upset by someone who disagrees with me?  I delight in it.  Unfortunately, I don’t yet know everything, so other opinions are fascinating jewels to me.  Things to treasure and consider and sometimes to elicit wonder.

Of course, sometimes, Mr. Black puts me in a double bind.  I am too much of a sycophant for saying that Jenna Bush is a beautiful bride, but “ungrateful to a friend” if I dare criticize Mr. Bush’s policies.  But that’s okay.  I contradict myself in just about every blog.

Lately, Mr. Black has suspected that you are me.  That is, that you are all my children using pseudonyms to defend me and my positions.  Alas, it is the ultimate compliment.  I wish my kids would get involved.  But to leave this point unanswered is to confirm it and so I am afraid I must speak up. 

The fact is, my children won’t even read my blog, let alone make a comment.  I don’t think one of them has ever read a single one.  They got off MySpace as soon as I joined.  (I haven’t told them I am on Facebook and Twitter.) They never read my books or watch me on television.  Well, sometimes.  And they make me walk a full ten yards behind them at the Mall.  They won’t wear a hat, if I ask them to, or turn out the lights when they leave their bedrooms. 

This is the age of anorexia nervosa, where teenagers commit slow suicide, supposedly in protest of bossy parents.  If Mr. Black has somehow been able to get his kids involved in his blog, God bless him.  He is a better man than I.  But alas, my children of the blogosphere are not my own.  They are free spirits, much like Mr. Black, himself.  They are like the wind.  I don’t know where they come from or where they are going.  But I love to read what they have to say.  Every single one.

15 Responses to Answering David Black

  1. bernsber says:

    Who has children that like their parents? Tell me please for I would like to raise my kids as they did.

  2. cbsure says:

    Dear Doug,

    Thank you for allowing the Free Market of Minds to thrive on your blog!

    & Thank you for the wake-up call! We would be wise to remember that We are citizens of Freedom of Speech…& Religion too! If We truly believe in the consequences of Individual Liberty to be more Prosperous for our Society, then we should get used…if not demand…thriving minds to compete to evolve ideas. Only the ideas that can survive a truly Free Market are the ones worth praising.

    It may be a good time to highlight…the long-lost reason why we choose to be ‘nice’…because it is surely a test of one’s temperment, when faced with someone who’s mind is unlike ours. It is too easy to forget…that Heaven is merely a place…where all problems can be ‘solved’. & Few solutions exist…if not none at all…when People only get together…to celebrating their ‘hate’ for each other. The minute we stop being ‘nice’ is the same minute we’re just wasting away…our Time.

    Everyone plays a role in Life! No voice should be discredited! Especially the Devil’s Advocate…such as the likes of Ron Paul & DB! (The difference between the two: one works for Free!…Hey, We get what we pay for.)

    If we cannot learn to accept People like DB as part of our Society…then how can we expect others to accept contrarians such as Ron Paul, Peter Schiff, Michael Scheuer, Chalmers Johnson, &…dare I say…our own children?

    Merry Holidays to you & your contrarian family!

    & May the Economy be with you…

    Sincerely,

    cbsure

  3. cbsure says:

    Dear DB,

    Tip of the hat to you…for your prolific & thought-provoking comments! If you were an Artist…your words would be like the paintings of Jackson Pollack! Few People can appreciate your ‘thoughtless’ words…& yet those that do…find you ‘amusing’.

    Keep up the good work! I look forward to the day you feel charitable to teach us…how We TOO can avoid getting ulcers!

    Happy Hanukkah to you & your beloved family!

    Sincerely,

    cbsure

  4. David Black says:

    “Who has children that like their parents? Tell me please for I would like to raise my kids as they did.”

    It’s not important for your children to like you. What’s important is that they RESPECT and to some extent, fear you.

    Your children are NOT supposed to be your pals.

  5. David Black says:

    I should correct some factual errors in Doug’s blog entry.

    “but “ungrateful to a friend” if I dare criticize Mr. Bush’s policies.”

    That’s not why I called Doug an ingrate. I called him an ingrate because he suggested that GWB would go down in history as the worst president since (I don’t recall the name, maybe Herbert Hoover).

    “Lately, Mr. Black has suspected that you are me. That is, that you are all my children using pseudonyms to defend me and my positions.”

    That’s not entirely true, I suspect primarily those hit-and-run posters, the so-called “nym-shifters” who post the same thing under different names but fail to follow up their remarks with more posts in the future.

    I am certain that cbsure and mark tabor, my dearest fans, are NOT little Weadlings.

  6. David Black says:

    “Some of you send me private e-mails from time to time about that prolific commentator, Mr. David Black. You wonder why I don’t delete his posts, since they are often contrary to the flow of the conversation. ”

    This is the most sickening aspect of posting to message boards and blogs, where people are actually that insecure of themselves that they have to run like cowards to an authority figure to take care of their problems for them.

    These people call themselves conservatives? This must be the work of LOSERtarians, who are actually libs who wish to avoid being branded libs.

    After all, who else but a lib would want street criminal vermin to continue living among us?

  7. donnaloo says:

    Hi Doug …

    Thank you for putting the “DB’s “of the world in perspective . They are all alike , nothing new , nothing unique . They remind me of the “piss ants ” you find in at the lake or camping ….not much to contribute …but sure do get your attention .

    In fact , your handling of DB has helped me with talk shows I listen to, with print media I subscribe to and websites I visit . You are so right ;without “contrarians “how boring it would be . All of us sitting around agreeing . However “thought provoking” is not a term I would ascribe to DB except on the rare ocassion when he has a worthwhile point . “Ranting ” and “raging” seem more accurate . BOORISH maybe too . The solution …the mute button of print ( the arrow key ) …..skip his comments and the ones who get sucked into name calling back at his loony ideas .

    I always feel talk radio and conservative publication ARE the balance to “mainstream” slanted media . Thus when “our” so called sources started giving “voice” to the OTHER side I felt “cheated ” or “invaded ” . I too reacted like others and sent you a private e mail . But I am curious to see if others agree.

    Newsmax has of late given too much voice to the left ( I feel we can all get that “hooey” spewed out ad nauseum from ABC, CBS , CNN ) . I avoid the LA Slime & Daily Rag .

    O’Reilly and his “fair and balanced” at times is irritating..but many of his conservative thoughts are mine too . I realize he is keeping the “loons ” in our face so we know they are there and who they are .

    Lastly Hannity & Colmes ….(thankfully my mute button will get a rest …Alan Colmes is leaving ) HOORAY for our team . Can’t be soon enough . If anyone defines a “piss ant ” its Colmes . He has to read all his little digs from his notes every one of his “pithy ” little attacks …he talks thru and over EVERY guest who has an intelligent point , and his co host . He uses the hard breaks to get his last little dig in .But he too serves a purpose ….he makes Ann Coulter, Rich Lauer , Laura Inghram and Michael Steele look so good when they “eat him alive” with real facts not snipets out of context . Best of all is Michael Reagan ( when he just laughs out loud at Colmes ) I just want to hug him . Michael renders Alan totally redundant on every issue .

    So I guess there is a purpose to having the “loons” comment with all their radical dribble . It keeps things “LIVELY ” …and keeps us awake to whats out there

    Good article , Doug

    D

  8. bernsber says:

    “It’s not important for your children to like you. What’s important is that they RESPECT you and to some extent, fear you.

    Your children are NOT supposed to be your pals.”

    So when a child goes off and get’s their girlfriend or themselves pregnant, lives a totally rebellious lifestyle or tatoos themselves up oneside and down the other is it any comfort to yourself to say, “At least I made them RESPECT me?!”

    No, I don’t think your children are supposed to be you pals and buddy buddies all the time. But there has got to be a way of raising them that grounds them in truth, while not sending them into far orbit. A lifestyle that is neither is loose and liberal, nor dogmatic and overly demanding in it religiousity. Neither the lifestyle of an “Anything goes” hippy nor the demanding pentacostal who yells at his kids “Because I SAID so!”

    Not that I am implying in the least, David Black, that you are any of those mentioned above.

  9. David Black says:

    “Thank you for putting the “DB’s “of the world in perspective . They are all alike , nothing new , nothing unique . They remind me of the “piss ants ” you find in at the lake or camping ….not much to contribute …but sure do get your attention .”

    Thus spake Mizzy Donna Loooooooooeeeeeeee! That lil’ Mizzus Lower Middle Class with her snot nosed rug rats in tow, her 1300 sq. ft. house with a leaky roof, her broken down compact car with an expired inspection sticker, her store coupon clippin’, her multiple trips to Wal Mart, her faithful attendance to the Church of the Dollar three nights per week plus Sundays, her desperate attempts to please her fartin’ belchin’ lite beer drinkin’ NASCAR lovin’ deer huntin’ husband, her life without any real attention or anything materially fulfilling which makes her yearn for something or someone to take her way.

    Since that isn’t a possibility, her yearning is sublimated through these political fantasies that will not or can not ever be realized.

    of course, in her house next to her fake Christmas tree, hangs that singing trout that never fails to get a chuckle out of her knuckle dragging friends from the Friday night bowling league.

    Pop in a bootlegged DVD of Larry the Cable Guy and it’s nothing short of a little piece of heaven around ol’ Donna Looooooooeeeeeeee’s house..

  10. bernsber says:

    David,
    Though it may have looked like it, let me say again that I’m in no way implying that you raise your children as described above, nor that your children will turn out the way I described. I’m simply asking questions.

    See, I was raised pentecostal. Maybe my church was odd, but nearly two out of three kids went off and messed their lives up in some way shape or form. I refuse to raise my children with that sort of odds.

    Then again I see yuppies and hippies who raise their children with no constraints whatsoever and just let them do whatever they want. Then those kids are messed up because they’ve got no foundation to stand on.

    All I’m asking is, where is the middle ground that works best?

    P.S. That Donna Looee bit was worth a good laugh.😀

  11. David Black says:

    bernsber: no problem, I’m not reading any implications into your opinions on child raising.

    I was raised in an immigrant eastern European household where no nonsense was tolerated.

    My children are fully grown and have forged professional careers in law and education. I attribute their success to good genetics and a measure of luck.

    Those are the two biggest factors, I believe.

    Also, set a perfect adult example and always be honest with them. Be a good listener as well. Be sure that husband and wife try to present a cohesive team, not chaos, in front of the children.

  12. bernsber says:

    Thanks David, that last bit was great advice.

  13. cbsure says:

    …the sound of (2) ‘perfect’ adults smooching…

  14. David Black says:

    … as opposed to that genetically defective and dysfunctional hell you likely grew up in, cbsure?

    I mean, how else can you attribute your failure in life to be a have instead of a have-not?

Leave a Reply

