Ron Paul and the FDA

There comes a moment on television when the host of the show seems backed into a corner on the subject of Ron Paul.

He must acknowledge the congressman’s prescience on the economy. How he anticipated the housing bubble, the mortgage crisis, the credit downgrade and the price of gold. There is no question that the country is coming to him.

In 2008, most of the American people didn’t know what the Federal Reserve is. Now most agree with Ron Paul that it should be thoroughly audited.

While GOP presidential candidates were trying to “outgun” their rivals last time around, they now pay homage to the large percentage of Americans who agree with Ron Paul that we should stop the endless wars that are bankrupting the country. And then flustered, backtracking, the host will seize some familiar anti-Paul device, too complicated to explain in a television sound bite, such as drug decriminalization, but usually it is his call to end the Federal Drug Administration.

“Well, we cannot have Ron Paul as president,” the host will laugh nervously, “I am not for eliminating the FDA and eating tainted meat.”

End of conversation.

Well, of course, Ron Paul supporters are likewise not in favor of eating tainted meat. And that is what drives the whole issue.

Today the FDA, like other agencies in Washington is hopelessly corrupt. Tyson’s Food, the largest producer of meat in the world, has also been a major contributor to both Republican and Democrat candidates over the years and was a major player in the rise of Bill Clinton.

Tyson employees have ended up as hires by the FDA, the very agency that is supposed to regulate them.

Feel safe about your meat? Consider this from Wikipedia: “The food safety director of Costco claimed in October 2009 that Tyson Foods refuses to supply beef to Costco due to Costco’s policy of testing beef for E. coli . . . stating ‘Tyson will not supply us. They don’t want us to test.'”

How about a complaint that chickens grown for processing are living and dying within 0.7 square feet of space and never see sunlight?

There are many reports that some companies feed cows corn instead of grass, which often requires veterinarians to clean out their colons. That the cows live and die, shoulder to shoulder, sometimes ankle deep, in rainwater and their own feces and urine.

There are theories that Americans are fat because of the hormone injections in beef. There was a University of Iowa study that found a new strain of MRSA because of excessive use of antibiotics in healthy animals. The food industry insists that it prevents disease.

In tests on farms in Iowa and Western Illinois it was found that a high percentage of hogs — and and even workers — carried a new strain of MRSA. Drug resistant infections have skyrocketed in the past two decades.

An Associated Press articled published last April suggested that half of the meat and poultry sold in U.S. supermarkets “may be tainted with Staphylococcus aureus, a bacteria that can make people sick.”

Many Americans see the media as complicit. After all, the food industry is a major advertiser. A journalist will break a story, cause a mild sensation, but it will soon disappear. (Upton Sinclair, the author who outed the meat industry in the early 20th century, would turnover in his grave.) Still, the Internet and the troubled conscience of workers in the system have helped fuel a populist uprising. More and more Americans are learning the truth and are concerned.

So yes, Ron Paul would change all of that.

Now, as Ron Paul often says, he is not running for dictator. He is running for president. He lives and breathes the U.S. Constitution. These are just his ideas. Congress would have to pass legislation to make them law and so the American people would have to agree. But one must admit that privatization and competition did not hurt the U.S. Post Office. Competition from UPS, Federal Express and Purolator have only made it better.

Imagine a J.D. Power and Associates stamp on a package of meat. Involvement of private companies would transform the meat industry. And even if a President Ron Paul was not successful in shutting down the corrupt FDA, and privatizing the whole process, just having a president who wasn’t blind to the cozy relationship between an agency and the industry it is supposed to regulate, could make all the difference in the world.

Read more on Newsmax.com: Ron Paul: Reform the FDA
Important: Do You Support Pres. Obama’s Re-Election? Vote Here Now!

44 Responses to Ron Paul and the FDA

  1. Brian Jacobs says:

    Excellent article Doug! Congresman Ron Paul lives and breathes the U.S. Constitution.

  2. Jason says:

    Glad to see you bring up MRSA Doug. Back in 2007 MRSA nearly killed me after it entered my bloodstream and attacked my heart and brain. Years ago, MRSA in the community was unheard of. I am a walking example of how overuse of antibiotics can be very dangerous to society.

  3. Sue says:

    My first real encounter with Ron Paul came about a mere 3 months ago. I was checking out the backgrounds of the Republican candidates. When I read about his views on the FED and how that entity should be handled, I began to check deeper, and I liked what I saw. One particular vote of his is what convinced me: Ron Paul is a physician and a Christian who believes that life begins at conception, yet he voted “yes” that women should be allowed to cross state lines to get an abortion. He didn’t dictate according to his beliefs: He legislated according to what the citizens wanted. Is that not the reason a state sends someone to Washington—to be the representative of the citizens of that state? Ron Paul represents, and he represents according to the constitution. I see no reason to believe that he would suddenly change when he moves into the White House.

  4. Sue says:

    Folks, it’s obvious that we all love Ron Paul, and what we have been doing is “preaching to the choir.” Do any of you know of a bloc dedicated to to Rick Perry. That man seems to be gathering up some support, and it’s my guess that those who are impressed with him aren’t aware of who he is and the lengths he will go to if it profits him. I am speaking of the deaths of at least 28 little girls, deaths that were due to his mandatory “vaccination” with the drug “gardisol.” It turns out that Perry is tied to the company (Merck) which company puts the drug out. One might say that since the drug was approved by the FDA that Perry shouldn’t be held responsible. I ask what right does a governor of a state have to demand a mandatory vaccination be given to young children, a vaccination which is given to prevent a sexually transmitted disease. There is something bad wrong here.

  5. Sue says:

    Tex, that is what a republic is all about. You, Mr. individual, have inalienable rights according the preamble to the Constitution, and that’s not to mention the constitution itself.
    Figured you might enjoy a wee refresher course on Democracies vs. Republics: I had forgotten several differences. Many times, I have read that a Democracy will eventually fold in on itself. Could be that we are experiencing the beginnings(?) of that very thing. Could be our Democracy is further along than we would wish to admit.

    http://lexrex.com/enlightened/AmericanIdeal/aspects/demrep.html

  6. tex2 says:

    Sue,

    I already understand what a republic is all about. We are not experiencing the beginnings of a Democracy falling apart, we are experiencing the beginnings of a Republic falling apart. It can be fixed, but the answer is NOT Ron Paul.

  7. Sue says:

    Tex2,s apparently I failed to transfer my thoughts to paper. The point I was trying to get across was that our country began as a Republic (which was a solid base), and then somewhere along the way, we fell into a Democracy (which was doomed to fold in on itself). When we switched from a Republic to a Democracy, we sealed our country’s fate. I don’t know the circumstances surrounding that event, but, I will try to find out.
    Tex,I am old enough to realize that although I may have done a vast amount of research on a paticular subject and think I have gathered enough information on that subject to make an “informed” decision, there could be several important pieces left out. I am .open to dialogue. I would like to hear the reasons you think Ron Paul would not make a good president. Provable reasons, such as his behavior at one time or another or the way he voted on a particular issue. No retoric.

  8. tex2 says:

    There is no evidence we have transitioned from a Republic to a Democracy. There are no changes to federal, state, or local laws that would support that position. Instead, we have moved away from some things the Founding Fathers did not consider. For instance, they did not foresee the rise of the career politician, nor did they foresee the lawyers would make up the vast majority of politicians, nor did they foresee the rise of lobbyists and other special interest groups, and the adverse influence they have on making and enforcing laws, particularly at the federal level. These 2 issues have done more to tear down the Republic, and term limitations is the solution.

    You can check other threads on this blog for why Ron Paul would not make a good president, I’m not going to repeat them here.

  9. Sue says:

    Tes2, I found the information on the differences between a Republic and a Democracy. There is another writing on this site that has nothing to do with Republics vs. Democracies.
    http://keelynet.com/repdem.htm

    Don’t forget about the reasons Ron Paul shoulden’t be elected president.

  10. tex2 says:

    Sue, you’re talking right past my comments. Stop it.

    If you want to continue this discussion, I suggest we do it via a confidential conference call. Dial *67 to keep your phone number confidential, then dial 760-569-6000, the access code is 975016#. You need to suggest a couple of days/times you are available first, and I’ll let you know which works best for me. I live in the Central time zone, keep that in mind when you suggest times. There is no charge except for your normal long distance charge to southern California, where the number is located. The number comes from freeconferencecall.com

    Don’t forget I already said, “You can check other threads on this blog for why Ron Paul would not make a good president, I’m not going to repeat them here.”

    However, I did note there were several Ronald Reagan quotes on your latest link, and not a single Ron Paul quote.

  11. Sue says:

    I did’t recall quoting anyone when talking to you, and looking over all of our conversations, I find that indeed I have not. End of our conversation.

  12. tex2 says:

    I didn’t say you quoted anybody, I said, “However, I did note there were several Ronald Reagan quotes on your latest link, and not a single Ron Paul quote.” I find that indeed you act like Ron Paul. If you don’t like the feedback you receive, you tune out. Another reason why Ron Paul is not electable. LOL

  13. sue says:

    Tex, perhaps you can tell me, is this site alive and well, or has all discussion ceased.
    I owe you an apology, by the way–on the Reagan quote, The story: I have a quote from someone on every email I send out, and I change it every month or so. Apparently what happened was that I retrieved some information that was on one of my archived emails, and in the so-doing, I not only copied the info, I also copied the Reagan quote

  14. What do you mean by “alive and well?” I wrote my comment on September 5, and you responded on September 27. YOU stated on September 5 “…end of our conversation.” As I stated on September 5, the Reagan quotes were on your link from September 5. The quote was NOT in your comment, it was in the link you sent September 5. You never responded to the September 5 invitation about talking on the phone. Are you high?

  15. sue says:

    Tex, if it’s ok with you, I’m going to email you, so you can see what I’m talking about.
    And don’t be a smarty pants.
    Also, it looks as if one (and maybe two) of my messages didn’t get posted. That could be due to my funky computer

  16. sue says:

    In a presidential debate, am I correct in thinking that one of the contestants can challenge another contestant without the permission of the head honcho?
    I’m not the smartest kid on the block, but Cain’s “999” tax plan seems to me to be a cousin to the trickle-down theory. This time the consumer winds up paying $27 on every hundred–right off the bat, no matter what his/her wage is. The hardest hit with this plan will be the lower income wage earner, the elderly and/or handicaped whose primary income is SS (which is also under the axe).
    the 9% that corportations have to fork over will be recouped via a higher selling price.
    An then there’s the 9% personal income.
    Let’s add that up, and let’s be sorta fair with our hypothetical worker whose wage is now $1200 a month, He pays $118 right off the bat, and a substancial lot more to reinburse the corporations for their initial increase in manufactoring cost….etc .etc, etc,

  17. sue says:

    I dropped back by to see if anyone had answered my question I read what I had written and have to apologize for wasting your time.

  18. sue,

    You haven’t answered numerous questions, why should anyone answer yours?

  19. sue says:

    Tex, I just did a quick scan of all the messages that were either to me or from me, and I didn’t find any that I hadn’t answered. Some comments I made were not as well researched as should have been, but none-the-less there.
    Now, sweet man, let’s stop bickering. I’ve heard tell it causes wrinkles. Guys can afford it, but women can’t.

  20. sue says:

    Tex, I meant to leave this address in that last message, but forgot.

    http://www.backwoodshome.com/articles2/silveira90.html

    It goes into a lot more detail and history of both a democracy and a republic than the one I sent you some time ago. You will find it interesting.

  21. sue says:

    Doug,
    You are probably already on top of this “Fedral Reserve Requst for proposal,” but just in case you missed it:
    http://www.wnd.com/?pageId=349681 (Federal Reserve wants to spy on citizens).
    Also, Obama’s Attack Watch website is either news to me, or I have forgotten hearing about it. It’s getting scary out there in politics land.
    Why can’t voters put political party loyalty aside long enough to see what’s happening to our country, our fredoms, and then vote for the person who has answers? If left on its current path, our great grandchildren won’t have any concept of freedom. And it’s more likely to be sooner than later.

  22. sue says:

    Does anyone know Ron Paul’s views on GMO products. I can’t find the information anywhere.

    • sue says:

      I found out all the information that link provided weeks ago. Paul’s advice that if you don’t want it, don’t buy it, and pretty soon it will go off the market because it’s not selling. That’s true.
      However, that’s not going to happen. Why? Because it’s not labeled, “GMO.” How can you avoid GMO products if it’s not on the label. What I want to know is, does he have any plans to require a “truth in advertising label” or some such. He has “forums” that apparently cover that question somewhat, but it’s impossible to get admitted to the them. The problem could be my ancient computer, but I would still like to have the info.

  23. sue says:

    Thanks, Tex
    And just so you won’t expect over much from me, I’m not all that bright. Whats ya gonna do? Gotta deal with whats ya got.

    Do appreciate you!

  24. That’s stating the obvious. Of course you’re not all that bright, you are a Ron Paul supporter!

  25. sue says:

    I’ve almost figured you out, young man. First of all, Your morals are such that you couldn’t possibly be a Perry supporter. Besides, you don’t like stupid people.
    I could be wrong about this, but I don’t think you cotton up to the idea of a woman president all that much.
    You could have been waiting to see if anyone new and interesting showed up. If that was your plan, so far it hasn’t panned out very well. Only new one is Cain with his platform of “wrap taxes with a different ribbon,” and I can’t see you falling for that.
    Could be you were going to go Demcratic and vote Obama in for another. Nay, that’s simply not you. No???

    Did you know that when you force a person to defend something or someone, that person becomes more attached to that thing or that someone. But not only that, the person doing the forcing becomes attached to the something or someone. I’m kinda thinking that (no matter how you started out) you have become a through and through Ron Paul supporter, and I must say that your performance as an agitator has had some outstaanding results on other folks as well. You have been a major factor in keeping the Ron Paul fire brightly burning. Good job!

  26. You’r exactly right on this blog post

  27. sue,

    You’re not even remotely close. What about my morals would not allow me to support Perry? I never said I don’t like stupid people. But if I see a chair, I call it a chair. If I see an airplane, I call an airplane. If I see a stupid person, I call them a stupid person. Is that simple enough so that it makes ANY sense to you?

    I would have no problem voting for the right woman. I can think of several I would vote for instead of Barry or Ron.

    I could also easily vote for Cain and his tax plan. Somebody proposed a bumper sticker for that one: Cain vs. Unable. LOL I also like the fact he’s not a lawyer and he’s not a politician.

    But I’m not waiting for anybody new to show up, I’m allowing the political process to narrow down the field.

    I would rather pour honey on my glorious naked body (as Rush would say) and be pinned down on top of mounds of fire ants before voting for Barry.

    Of course I know you would become attached to your position when I cause you to defend it, that’s what makes you stupid, rather than taking in new information, thinking about your position, and changing your mind. LOL

    Sure, Ron is doing great, as long as he didn’t notice he got passed by Herman Cain faster than a rabbit running past a turtle!

    how to recruit,

    Thank you very much, but you have a lot to learn about “how to recruit.” LOL

  28. sue says:

    A quick question, Tex: Recalling the 15% flat tax idea that was floating around a few years back, do you happen to remember the pros and cons of that idea?

    And, by the way, unsubstantiated rattling is not equivalent to new information.

    Also, I do not frequent this site to recruit. I frequent it for the same reason most of my friends are middle aged. We tend to think alike, ergo it’s a comfort zone.

  29. Yes, I do remember the pros and cons of the flat 15% flat tax. They are very similar to Herbert Cain’s 999 proposal.

    By the way, not answering questions makes you look stupid. And the best thing, blogs are forever! LOL

    If you bothered to read the post above my last one, you would realize that part of my comment wasn’t directed towards you. Next time, have the person who reads these comments to you be sure to read more carefully! LOL

  30. sue says:

    Tex, let’s talk about Cain’s tax plan a wee bit.

    A quick overview:
    http://politicalticker.blogs.cnn.com/2011/09/05/cain-promotes-9-9-9-tax-plan-lays-out-his-economic-policies/

    In a nutshell, Cain’s idea of fixing America’s financial woes is to Tax; Tax; and then Tax one more time. I hope no one is nieve enough to think that corporations are going to pay 9% of their profits. They’ll do as they always do: They will pass the extra cost on down to the consumer. And more than likely, they would go ahead and round that extra off to be a dime before passing it on. It would continue that way until it got to the consumer.

    With the Federal debt already an invisibe number and growing exponentially by the second, it would be impossible to get our finances straightened out by taxing.

    And another thing that would be nice to consider is that the middle income worker might like to have enough from his/her (or from his AND her) paycheck(s) to live without gross financial worry. 

    I’ll grant you that it makes sense to believe that if a person could be highly successful in a  private business, that same person would be succesful in handling the finances of a country. However, the budget of a private business (unlike that of the US in relation to the FED) doesn’t have to leave a book of blank checks handy for the super rich to pay for their fun and games. Nor can the bank that handles various transactions for the private  businessman devalue the businessman’s dollar at will.

    If either of these were the case, I do believe that businessman would be forced to go bankrupt or take up a life of crime. Come to think of it….

  31. sue says:

    one thing: I will argue with you and try to point to facts that will back up my stance, but I don’t continually try to degrade you. Even in the message about having figured you out, there were no ugly statements aimed at you or your character.

  32. sue says:

    That last message was a continuation of the previous message to Tex

  33. sue,

    You have no idea what you’re talking about. I suggest you shut up so you don’t constantly demonstrate how absolutely STUPID you are.

    By the way, the word is naive, not nieve, and invisible, not invisibe.

  34. That last message was a continuation of demonstrating how stupid sue is! LOL

  35. sue says:

    okay, you win whatever game youve been playing, Tex.
    Take care.

  36. I won a long time ago, and now you finally came to that realization? LOL

    Good riddance, sue. Next time you ask somebody questions you want legitimate answers to, try answering questions they asked first.

  37. sue says:

    Will Ron Paul be able to do anything about this outrage?
    ________________

    Richard Allen Smith
    Afghanistan War Veteran
    Vice Chairman, VoteVets.org

    P.S. Can you forward this to your friends? We want everyone to know what Scott Gessler is trying to do to our troops.

    Dear VoteVets Supporter,

    One of the most important rights we have as Americans is the right to go to the polls and cast our ballots in favor of the people we want to represent us in our democracy. For over two hundred years, brave American men and women have raised their right hand and placed themselves in harms way to defend this freedom. But in Colorado, that very right is being attacked, specifically for American troops.

    Colorado Secretary of State Scott Gessler has ordered election officials not to send ballots to American troops serving overseas, in places like Afghanistan and Iraq. We are Colorado residents. We are also Veterans. We volunteered to serve our country and wore the American flag on our right shoulder in harms way. As Colorado Veterans, the idea that Scott Gessler would deliberately prevent our service members from exercising the very freedoms they fight for is offensive, un-American, and wrong.

    But Scott Gessler’s order is not just unpatriotic; it’s also illegal. Gessler is in direct violation of the federal Uniform Military and Overseas Voters Act, which requires clerks to mail ballots to all eligible voters in the military.

    Will you sign our petition to Scott Gessler? The Secretary of State needs to not only know that what he is doing is unpatriotic, but that as Colorado Veterans, we will not stand for his insulting behavior and attempts to disenfranchise men and women in uniform.

    Scott Gessler clearly doesn’t respect military service. It’s up to us to show him why he is wrong.
    Click here to sign our petition!

    Micah Snead
    Denver, Colorado
    Iraq War Veteran
    Colorado State Captain, VoteVets.org

    Richard Allen Smith
    Denver, Colorado
    Afghanistan War Veteran
    Vice Chairman, VoteVets.org

    P.S. Can you forward this to your friends in Colorado? We need Scott Gessler to know how many voices are outraged by his disrespect of American troops.

  38. And this story has WHAT to do with the FDA? LOL

  39. sue says:

    Doug, and fellow bloggers, I realize that this comment is not at all concerned with Ron Paul and the FDA, but I figure that the main objective here is to encourage each in our goal of getting Dr. Paul in the Whitehouse, and to arm each other with facts that can help us along the way. Also involved is the job of informing others of the difference Dr. Paul can make in our country’s prosperity, our fredom from world conflicts that have no basis for becoming our problems, and offering all citizens a life in which personal decisions are taken out of the govrnment’s grasp and returned to the individual.
    Some of those facts would of necessity involve other Republic candidates. Thus is this that I share now with you.

    http://www.theblaze.com/stories/herman-cain-slams-wall-street-protestors-if-you-don’t-have-a-job-you’re-not-rich-blame-yourself/.

    Looks as though someone in the crowd grew up with a silver spoon in his mouth, and is quick to condemn those who were a wee bit less fortunate.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Herman_Cain

  40. tex2 says:

    sue,

    Who are you suggesting grew up with a silver spoon in his mouth? Because it definitely was NOT Herman Cain. He MADE himself into a success, and did it during a time when he probably wasn’t treated very well. The first several comments in your first link back up my position.

Leave a Reply

